Controlling the Carboholic

The Definition for Appetite reference from dictionary.com
ap·pe·tite
noun
1. a desire for food or drink: I have no appetite for lunch today.

2. a desire to satisfy any bodily need or craving.

3. a desire or liking for something; fondness; taste: an appetite for power; an appetite for pleasure.

My loves and my sins are carbohydrates, every time I pass a bakery my mouth salivates over the smell and I can almost taste the bread in my mouth, potatoes, especially mashed I eat them like they are going out of fashion, rice is the same and so much more. My body doesn’t process it like other people.

When it comes to food, I have no off switch, for example, when you are full you stop eating, I don’t have that and I can keep on consuming food until someone turns around and says “Don’t you think that you have had enough” that is usually the only time I stop. While I am consuming, I never vomit and seriously with the amount that I eat, it would put the men to shame.

In one day I consumed:
Dinner Box from McDonald’s containing;
2 small cheeseburger meals with drinks
2 small big mac meals with drinks
6 nuggets
2 chicken cheese burgers
Medium cheeseburger meal with a drink

Caramel Cookies McFlurry
that was all at once

A Large prawn omelette dish from my local Chinese store
small fried rice

2 Chocolate Spongy pudding with sauce
Neapolitan Ice Cream

Medium Double quarter pounder meal with drink
Caramel Sundae
This list does not include breakfast or the snacks

I think that there were a few other things, but that is a lot of food and that is just in one day and I wasn’t even trying. I felt slightly bloated for about 30 minutes during that day and I didn’t feel sick. I was still hungry and according to my mother I have been like this since I was a baby. I had to have the breast and the bottle and still never seemed to be satisfied. As a child my mother was able to control what was there to eat but I would take all of my brothers food when no one was watching. I am not like other people who feel full, I have to put in a lot of effort to not eat and I have to think about it because my body doesn’t tell me not to eat, I do!

I Avoided Takeaway Food for 3 weeks, as you can see from the list above, I am a Fast Food store ideal customer, but it isn’t good for my mind, body & spirit. So staying away from eateries for 3 week helped me change the habit and think about the better choices.

Waking up in the morning, I don’t usually stretch or just lay there and relax, I would just walk straight to the kitchen and stay in there for half an hour eating, eating and eating. To work on changing this I have put together my Top Ten Gain Control List

Top Ten Gain Control List

STOP and think before I open my mouth
Eat to Live not just because
Never eat in the kitchen
Always eat sitting at the dinner table
Eat food prepared from scratch at home
Once a week eat out so I never feel deprived
Never go longer than 3 hours between meals
Eat some type of protein at every meal
Always have snack bags prepared eg. nuts, boiled eggs, celery
Know what is in the food I eat and how it will help my body

Also in order to keep myself in check, my mum suggested Herbalife because it would help with balanced nutrition and help me feel full. I don’t eat breakfast and in order to get your metabolism working and have the energy for the day, you need breakfast, So for breakfast I have a Nutrition Shake (Vanilla) with water and protein powder and multivitamins. I tried eating the food on the list and the shake and it actually (first time in my life) made me feel sick, so I tried just having the shake and vitamin for Breakfast and lunch and consuming half of the list up the top, still was feeling a little sick, so I actually had to change what I ate completely. Now I am having a Shake and vitamins for breakfast and lunch, having a protein and salad and protein meal with healthy snacks in between each meal and I am actually feeling full and satisfied.

I used to eat because I ate, but now I am eating for health, happiness, energy and also have a business out of it as well.
I have to “Be the Better me”, in order to find myself and start controlling my life and not let food control me.

About

Sharing my experiences with the world!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Personal
2 comments on “Controlling the Carboholic

Leave a Reply

Past Posts
Calendar
January 2013
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
