Searching For More…….

A city girl working on a grape harvester is not something that you hear everyday considering what comes with working on a harvester. The demands on your mind, body & everything that you can think of gets tiresome.

The things that I did love were:

Physically keeping me in shape. Being on my feet for 10+ hours a day, keeping canes/vines out of the fans, cleaning the harvester, making sure the machine went in the right rows, helping fix the harvester, making sure the machine was full of fuel & oil and to insure that the harvester drive that I was with had a machine that constantly flowed and so much more….

The grape harvester and tractor with trailer entering the rows!

Being out in the open. The sound of nature, in the morning, evening and night! The scenery, with the sun rising & sun setting over the vines or the river or the desert, it was picturesque. The feel of freedom, standing on top of the harvester with the wind in my hair and the sunshine was beautiful.

And the money certainly was another incentive to work out in the field considering living in a country town with jobs being scarce unless your into specific industries, in the right age bracket and so on.  It was a great source of income, considering how long it lasted.  A season doing the grape harvest is approximately 3-4 months depending on the weather, if the crop is heavy and so many other factors, but I’m not going to get to technical.

The things that I couldn’t ignore:

  • Long hours
  • Dry Skin
  • Damaged Hair
  • Cuts & Scars
  • Sleep deprivation

    This was my catwalk/office for the time that I was at work.

  • Fatigue
  • Body suffered (my hands literally went black)
  • No time to pay bills
  • No time to get groceries
  • NO TIME FOR ME!!!

I need to start searching for something that is inside, I choose my hours, I choose my work place, I CHOOSE (slight hint of emphasis) what I want to do, where I want to do it and the question is now how am I going to get it!

Related articles

About

Sharing my experiences with the world!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Personal

Leave a Reply

Past Posts
Calendar
April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
